Advertisements

How the Lost Mode works on iOS 7 devices and iCloud

One of the biggest changes involved in the iOS 7 update came out this week is the Lost Mode in iCloud. Lost Mode allows any device connected to your own Apple ID to be locked down with a 4 digit PIN code and seamlessly track its movements on the map. But how secure this can be? And how does it work?

How to activate the Lost Mode

Lost Mode can be activated only through Find my iPhone, either on icloud.com/#find or from the iOS app, it doesn’t matter which one you choose. After having selected the lost device, you have three options. Play Sound, Erase, and Lost Mode. Play sound simply makes the device ring an alarm even if it is silenced or audio is muted, while Erase will delete every content on it, even if after doing so it will be impossible to locate it again.

Lost mode will first ask you a telephone number to show beneath a custom message that will appear on the lock screen. At the end, the lost iPad will look like this.

iOS 7 Lost Mode

What if it gets restored while in Lost Mode?

In this case, the iPad will be as useful as a piece of furniture. If it gets erased while in Lost Mode, the iPad will be recognized during the activation process as stolen. It means that instead of entering whatsoever Apple ID, the thief will be forced to use yours in order to be able to unlock and use it. This way any Apple product can benefit from a never seen before security.

Moreover, New York PD highly recommended to switch to iOS 7 for the mentioned reason above, where such episodes aren’t so rare after all.

_____________________________________________________

In Italiano

Uno dei cambiamenti più grandi in iOS 7 è la Modalità Smarrito di iCloud; permette a qualunque dispositivo connesso con il proprio Apple ID di essere bloccato con un PIN a 4 cifre a contemporaneamente controllare tutti li spostamenti dello stesso. Ma fino a che punto questo sistema è sicuro? Come funziona?

Attivare la Modalità Smarrito

La Modalità Smarrito può essere attivata in due modi; dal sito icloud.com/#find o dall’app per iOS Trova iPhone, il risultato è lo stesso. Dopo aver selezionato il dispositivo in questione (nel nostro caso un iPad mini) avremo tre possibilità. Emetti suono, Inizializza ed Modalità Smarrito. Emetti suono farà sì che l’iPad inizi a suonare anche se in silenzioso, mentre Inizializza ne eliminerà il contenuto anche se non sarà più possibile trovarlo.

La Modalità Smarrito richiederà un numero di telefono da mostrare nella schermata di blocco al di sotto di un messaggio personalizzato. Una volta attivata, lo schermo si oscurerà e l’iPad bloccato con il PIN esistente che, se fosse reinserito, lo riattiverà.

Cosa succede se viene ripristinato in Modalità Smarrito?

In questo caso, l’iPad sarà utile come un soprammobile. Se viene ripristinato senza che la Modalità Smarrito sia preventivamente disattivata, al momento dell’attivazione non sarà richiesto un Apple ID qualunque, bensì quello del proprietario a cui era legato senza possibilità di andare oltre. In questo modo ogni prodotto Apple disporrà di un nuovo livello di sicurezza che farà riflettere due volte prima di commettere un furto.

Addirittura il dipartimento di polizia di New York ha consigliato pubblicamente di eseguire l’aggiornamento ad iOS 7 per il suddetto motivo, in una città in cui casi come questi non sono rari.

Advertisements

Tags: , , , , , , ,

%d bloggers like this: